Subscribe to our newsletter

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

South Huntington Hall of Fame Inductees Honored

(l-R) Council members Susan Berland and Mark Mayoka and, at right, Legislator Lou D’Amaro (D-Huntington Station) honor 2010 South Huntington Hall of Fame Inductees Irene Moore (attending on behalf of son Julian Moore), Patrick McMullan, Maureen McCormick-Grudens, Linda Freeman, Gene Gross and Jason Mailhot. Not pictured is Councilwoman Glenda Jackson and new inductee Richard P. Mills.

Pride in the community was evident on Saturday, Sept. 25th when seven accomplished individuals of local, national and international prominence who share the unique bond of being proud products of the local community were honored as the Second Class of Inductees in the South Huntington School District Hall of Fame.  The celebration, held during Walt Whitman High School’s homecoming weekend, included a brunch at the school with family and friends where the school district alumni were lauded and applauded as they formally joined a select group of former Whitman Wildcats in the district’s prestigious Hall of Fame.

Suffolk Legislator Lou D’Amaro (D-Huntington Station) and Huntington Town Council members Susan Berland, Glenda Jackson and Mark Mayoka presented the inductees with County and Town proclamations.

“These impressive individuals are all charismatic role models who bring pride and honor to South Huntington, the very community where they began their paths to excellence,” Legislator Lou D’Amaro said.  “I am privileged to offer my congratulations on behalf of Suffolk County.”

The 2010 Hall of Fame class inductees were: Gene Gross ’65, Linda Fusina Freeman ’71, Patrick McMullan ’73, Jason Mailhot ’74, Maureen McCormick-Grudens ’79, Julian Moore ’94 and Richard Mills ’68.

“It was a pleasure for me to honor the 2010 inductees of the South Huntington School District Hall of Fame,” commented Councilwoman Susan Berland.  “These hard-working and incredibly successful Huntingtonians certainly deserve this recognition and I was proud to celebrate their accomplishments with them.  I would like to congratulate all of the inductee’s again and thank them for the positive role models they are not only for the South Huntington School District, but for the entire Town of Huntington.”

This year’s selection committee included Superintendent Dr. Thomas Shea and Assistant Superintendents Merryl Rogers, Jacqueline Harris, Karen Occhiogrosso and James Polansky.   Members of the first class of honorees, inducted in 2008, include: Beverly Wideman ’66, Maureen McGrath Jenness ’67, Jerome Cipriano ’71, Philip Volpe ’73, Gerry Cooney ’74, David Brieff ’76, Kieth Cockrell ’79, Jordan Leeds ’79, Tom Gugliotta ’88 and Jana L. Fox ’92.

Councilwoman Glenda A. Jackson stated, “I commend the district for recognizing this accomplished and inspiring group of Walt Whitman alumni.  I believe these inductees will serve as excellent role models for South Huntington students for years to come.”

Councilman Mark Mayoka added, “”The many accomplishments of the 2010 Hall of Fame inductees are an inspiration to the current student body. Their family and friends should be proud.”

Read our Comment Tips & Rules

Comments are closed.